Hey beautiful people…

Ever since the realisation hit me, that the eyebrows we are initially born with can drastically change and alter throughout life, I have since witnessed and experienced a catalogue of eye-brow disasters. These withessed accounts have been an eye-opener (pun intended). Whether at school, at home, at work or on Earth generally, there were valuable lessons to be learnt, unforgettable mistakes to be made and an accolade of mishaps to crouch down, hold my stomach and roll on the floor laughing to. Some observations have been out of this world.
School was the best place to observe the evolution of brows from the 90’s to far past the millennium; during such time, I note that I discovered far more about the poetic injustice of tweezers, than I did about anything else in any other tutorial. Click this link to see some serious examples of eyebrow FAILS.

http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://cdn.pophangover.com/images/eyebrows-3.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.pophangover.com/2011/03/30/10-huge-eyebrow-fails/&usg=__MXkqMMbv0EKdgSVBjpHSupRcPkc=&h=468&w=436&sz=41&hl=en&start=8&zoom=1&tbnid=R0N7vRYc1A7_7M:&tbnh=128&tbnw=119&ei=vOL3UO63NMao0QXK74D4BQ&prev=/search%3Fq%3DEYEBROW%2Bfails%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26client%3Dsafari%26sa%3DN%26rls%3Den%26tbm%3Disch&um=1&itbs=1

cher lloyd red dress

Some of my findings are as follows:
Sperm brows – The first part of the brow resembles a tadpoles head and the end its tail.
Slugs – Thick undefined brows with a clear start and end, but a fuzzy in between.
Shy-brows – The entire eyebrow is effectively shaven off and a faint line drawn in its place.
Thin line between love and hate – 80’s eyebrows – Whereby a person draws a defined, strong and straight line over faint and undefined eyebrows. Never understood this.
Pepper & Spice – The eyebrow is over plucked both on top and below – but it’s always in the inbetween bespeakled phase – this brow is never left to fully grow back, but is also never, ever plucked in time.
The Shape of My Art – Geometrical shaped eyebrows that look as if they have been illustrated with a protractor and/or any other instrument of mathematic stationary: 45• lines, open-end triangles and semi circles are just some of the crazy shapes out there.
Face Off – The front part of the eyebrow is plucked – so it looks like both brows are sliding off the forehead and slowly but surely down the cheeks.
Bert and Ernie – The brows are shaped unevenly, one is heavy, dark, and extremely close to the other which is smaller, lighter and appears to be running away from its sibling.
Permanent Marker/ Tattoo Did This To You? – Tattooed brows, who the hell thought of this idea and why? Too many Xfactor contestants have suffered this drastic brow replacement surgery!

Let me not forget the Snake Brows – In the early 2000’s it was perfectly acceptable to pluck and shave your eyebrows so that they resemble road markings; Waves, chevrons and chicane graphics served as a template to many unfortunate ghetto-fabolous teenagers. Can I add that guys were doing this too? Just the other day I saw a guy in Shorditch trying to revive this stupid look. This look should NEVER EVER be revived – even if Rhianna decides next year that it’s cool. Road markings on your face indicate to me, that I should jump in a car and drive across your face, stop, reverse, and drive over it again. And again until you get the message that this is unacceptable.
Ahhh… And breathe.

I myself can not bear to look back at pictures of my fourteen year old self. I mean, why did I think it was okay to pluck my eyebrows so much, that I should appear permanently surprised. And why didn’t anyone tell me that clown brows were just not okay?

You live and learn…

Here is an explanation/guideline as to how, when shaping, the brow should be defined. This right-angle triangle is a beauty guru’s rule of thumb. This image illustrates where the brow should naturally start and end, the height the brows should sit at, and where the arch should rise and fall. This is all in correlation with the other features on your face – use this guide and your brows will sit naturally with the rest of your face, and not an unnatural floating entity in its own world!
Just-the-ideal-female-eyebrow-illustration

So here is a little step-by-step picto-tutorial from me to you, on how to achieve a basic defined brow.
Equipment:
MAC Brow Stylo in Spiked
MAC Studio Sculpt Concealer in NW40
MAC Slanted Brush 208
REVLON Concealer Brush

Step 1: Here are my brows, one is already at stage 3, the other is bare, freshly waxed, brushed and ready for Step 2.
Eyebrow Start

Step 2: Take the Pencil, and draw an outline of your brow – create a natural shape that is slightly larger than your natural brow, use small strokes to edge.
Eyebrow Edge

Step 3: Fill this space using stokes to colour the space in, go along gradually, in the same direction of your brow hairs.
Eyebrow Fill

Step 4: Neaten this using a concealer and concealer brush, to define the outline, correct your arch and fade out any mistakes.
Eyebrow Concealer

Step 5: Outline your brow with the concealer, using just the tip of the brush head, the line needs to be close to edge of the pencil line.
Eyebrow Neaten

Step 6: Once neat, start to blend/work this line into the skin – don’t leave an obvious light line unless thats the look you wish to go for!
Eyebrow Blend

Step 7: Use the Angled brush, or a spare hard edged eye-shadow brush, to blend in the eyebrow pencil. The shading should graduate, and the brow should be less defined at the start of the brow for a more natural look.

Step 8: Go in and correct any mistakes, once satisfied continue with the rest of your foundation regime!
*Please note, I have conciously chosen to begin the start of my brow earlier than “recommended” as I have a broad nose, so if I were to start the brow at its true point – my nostril – My brows would appear to be falling off of my face!
Eyebrow End

I do hope this helps! Use as a guide, not as a rule…

Now you know my secret 🙂

Laters

La Minx

