Happy Sunny Sunday!

So the Black Pound is well and truly now a recognised form of currency. Just like the Pink Pound for the ladies, Grey Pound for the oldies and Rainbow Pound for the liberated…

50 Shades of Brown?

Finally, the make-up industry has woken up to the fact that women of colour spend a fair few bob on hair and beauty; relaxers, weaves and Uber expensive (and extensive) trips to the hairdressers have made Moguls millions… billions even! Surprised? Watch the Documentary, “Good Hair” by Chris Rock and you will be enlightened by the world of crazy black hair contests, lightening creams, creamy-crack-relaxers and the art of gluing hair onto your head that belongs to someone, somewhere half-way across the world.

MAC Cosmetics and Bobbi Brown have been coining in on the Black Pound for a over a decade, and MaybelinesDream Matte Mousse was the first foundation advertised on British screens for women of colour, sure, we only got one colour – being the obvious ‘Cocoa’ – but it was a start. A start that paved the way of the brown brick road to girls like me actually wearing a foundation that near enough matched the colour of the correct side of my hand. 2011 saw the counters of Chanel, Lancome, Estee Lauder, Laura Mercier, Nars, Illamasqua, Giorgio Armani proudly displaying darker shades, the ‘High Street’ brands joined the aptly coined “Carnival of Colour”, Rimmel, L’oreal, Max Factor, The Body Shop, Sleek and even BootsNo.7 have begun to service little brown bottles of love. Sure, there is a while to go, but the industry has come so far. There is now competition and more importantly choice in the market, as well as rising stars having a moment in the spotlight like Joan Smalls, thanks to the Estee Lauder Skin Tone Illuminator campaign.

Joan Smalls Estee Lauder

And after the foundation came the BB cream…

So the original Mac Daddy Beauty Balm – Clarins’ Beauty Flash Balm – somewhat (in the commercial retail UK Market) gave birth to BB (beauty or blemish balm) madness. Every advert is now about BB creams, and now CC (colour correction) creams have also taken over the networks intermission schedules. Im waiting for an A-Z of beauty creams to plague us all… I’ve already started thinking about what the abbreviations will stand for. But lets face it, all alphabetical jibes aside – EVERY WOMAN NEEDS A BB CREAM.

The Beautiful Iman now has launched an awesome little range of BB creams for darker complexions with IMAN Cosmetics.

iman-cosmetics-launches-bb-cream

I was sent two shades to try from the BB range: Earth Deep and Earth Medium. I reckoned that I would be (as usual) awkwardly inbetween shades but Earth Medium was pretty much spot on; It definitely has the dewy consistency of a BB cream, but has the colour match properties of a foundation; very strong pigment, and this BB cream did even the darker areas of my face. There are six shades available, Sand Light, Sand Medium, Clay Medium, Clay Deep and Earth Medium and Earth Deep.

BB2

Although I don’t like my face being too shiny, I did want this IMAN BB Cream to replace a moisturizer – as the two shouldn’t be used in conjunction. Unless you want your face to appear to be melting off of course.I swept some loose powder over my face just to take the sheen down a tad. The SPF 15 is an added bonus, women of colour tend not to think about sun protection. Yeah I said it. I love the sun, but suffer from heat rash and eczema, I also want everlasting youth or at least the appearance of it, so having a healthy relationship with the sun is important.

The other bonus is, the coverage; although sheer, its perfect for that everyday look, you know, that “Oh radiant? Me? I just rolled out of bed looking this good without having to slap on inches of foundation…” look. So I will certainly be packing this in my holiday bag. Sun Cream, Foundation and Moisturizer all in one! More space for hair stuff yay! Although I found I really had to work-in the product (unlike other glide on/glide off BB’s), I found that once dry, the product didn’t transfer onto my hand, my pillow, my Iphone, other peoples cheeks or rub off onto the cats! Result!

Me pictured with IMAN BB Cream in Earth Medium

BBCREAMFACE

Swatches

BBSKIN

I am definitely a Happy (Lindt Chocolate) Bunny.

Now the retail price is a little high end at $20 (£14), but it is IMAN after all ladies. It is also a BB cream catered for women of colour too… there are some other high end, lower end and mid price-point choices from Smashbox, Gosh, Sleek and Maybeline… however the shade variety market-wide is a little limited/diminutive. So until the rest of the industry catches up with a product good enough to rival IMANS, y’all know what y’all need to do!

Laters,

La Minx

x

